On the eve of Super Bowl LV, the NFL capped its 2020 season Saturday night by naming Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers its MVP while choosing eight superstars of the past to be enshrined at its Hall of Fame.

Rodgers’ award, his third MVP, came after he had his best statistical season in his career at the age of 37, throwing 48 touchdowns while leading Green Bay to the NFC championship game.

“2020 was definitely a crazy year filled with lots of change and growth, some amazing memorable moments. 180 straight days of having my nose hair scraped, playing for very little fans or no stands the entire season,” Rodgers said before making a surprise revelation he had gotten engaged.

Los Angeles Rams’ defensive end Aaron Donald took the NFL’s top defensive player honors, while Tennessee Titans running back Derek Henry garnered the top offensive player title.

San Diego Chargers rookie quarterback Hebert Justin Herbert won the rookie of the year award while Seattle Seahawks superstar Russell Wilson captured the Walter Payton Man of the Year award for civic engagement and charitable work.

Eight former NFL stars also learned they have earned a gold jacket as the 2021 inductees to the NFL Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, led by superstar quarterback Peyton Manning, a 14-time All-Pro, and defensive phenom Charles Woodson.

The other modern-era inductees included former Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson, current San Francisco 49ers general manager and former Super Bowl defensive back John Lynch, and former Pittsburgh Steelers guard Alan Faneca.

Inductees from prior eras included retired Dallas Cowboys wide receiver Drew Pearson, former Steelers scout/personnel executive Bill Nunn, a posthumous honoree, and former Oakland Raiders and Seahawks coach Tom Flores.

You Might Like
Learn more about RevenueStripe...