The Associated Press on Tuesday night declared former congressman Tim Ryan the winner of Ohio’s Democrat Senate primary, with the winner of the GOP primary at about 8:50 p.m. local time still too close to call.

The wire service also reports Ohio Republican Gov. Mike DeWine has secured his party’s nomination for a second term.

In the Senate race, Democrats and Republicans are competing for the seat of retiring GOP Sen. Rob Portman.

In the GOP primary, Trump-backed memoirist and venture capitalist J.D. Vance has a narrow leader over former state Treasurer Josh Mandel and former state Rep. Matt Dolan. 

Vance leads with 29.6% of the vote, followed by 23.8 for Mandel and 22% for Dolan, according to The New York Times.  

DeWine held off bids by former congressman Jim Renacci and politician Joe Blystone.

You Might Like
Learn more about RevenueStripe...