The United States will ban Russian companies and citizens from using U.S. accounting, marketing and consulting services as part of a new package of sanctions in response to Moscow’s war on Ukraine, the White House announced. 

The U.S. also will sanction three major Russian-state controlled television stations, and will impose more export restrictions on Russia’s industrial sector. 

“Today’s actions are a continuation of the systematic and methodical removal of Russia from the global financial and economic system,” a senior Biden administration official said Sunday on a call with reporters. “The message is there will be no safe haven for the Russian economy” if the invasion continues, the official said.

The U.S., the European Union, and the G7 states will act in concert on some of the sanctions, the White House announced. 

“Putin has failed in his initial military objective to dominate Ukraine – but he has succeeded in making Russia a global pariah,” the White House announced in a statement. “Today, the United States, the European Union and G7 committed to ratchet up these costs by collectively taking further measures, consistent with each partner’s respective legal authorities and processes.”

The U.S. also imposed some 2,600 visa restrictions on Russian and Belarusian officials, “in response to their ongoing efforts to undermine the sovereignty, territorial integrity, or political independence of Ukraine,” the White House said.

You Might Like
Learn more about RevenueStripe...