The House of Representatives convened on Friday for the 12th round of voting in speaker election that has gone on for 4 days.

So far, McCarthy has picked up nine votes from GOP holdouts but he’s still on track to lose the 12 round. It is unclear if the House will adjourn or proceed to another round.

Florida GOP Rep. Matt Gaetz nominated Ohio GOP Rep. Jim Jordan for speaker ahead of the 12th round of voting.

North Carolina GOP Rep. Dan Bishop, a conservative GOP holdout who opposed McCarthy, voted for the California Republican in the 12th round. House Freedom Caucus Chairman Rep. Scott Perry and Oklahoma GOP Rep. Josh Brecheen also switched his vote to McCarthy. Illinois GOP Rep. Mary Miller, South Carolina GOP Rep. Ralph Norman, Texas GOP Rep. Michael Cloud, George GOP Rep. Andrew Clyde, Florida GOP Rep. Anna Paulina Luna and Florida GOP Rep. Byron Donalds flipped to McCarthy too.

McCarthy had fallen short of the simple majority needed to win speaker during 11 rounds of voting due to the group of about 20 consistently voting against him.  

You Might Like
Learn more about RevenueStripe...