It took 15 ballots over the course of multiple days, but eventually Republican Rep. Kevin McCarthy was voted in as the next Speaker of the House (Nancy Pelosi left the gavel behind for McCarthy but no word on if she also included some hot stock tips).

The final vote took place well after midnight:

Following a more-chaotic-than-usual conclusion to voting on the 14th failed ballot Friday night, the House of Representatives finally elected House GOP Leader Kevin McCarthy as Speaker of the House on the 15th ballot in the early morning hours just before 1:00 a.m. on Saturday.

For McCarthy to finally win, GOP leadership convinced enough holdout members to change their votes to “present” for the 15th ballot after the 14th round failed.

The final total on the 15th ballot: 216 votes for McCarthy, 212 votes for Jeffries, and 5 “present” votes.

It didn’t take even a few minutes after the final vote for Ukraine President Volodymyr Zelenskyy to congratulate McCarthy and remind him that he is looking forward to continued aid:

Wow, Zelenskyy was certainly closely monitoring that vote.

He was definitely watching with great interest.

Maybe it’s already gone. Who knows.

It really makes you wonder.



CNN’s Jake Tapper points out how the ‘American experiment’ was in peril on 1/6

Eric Swalwell takes credibility swing at GOP holdouts voting for McCarthy, accidentally KOs himself

NBC reporter says some House GOPers are ‘denying the results of an election again’


Editor’s Note:

Help us keep owning the libs! Join Twitchy VIP and use promo code AMERICAFIRST to receive a 25% discount off your membership!

You Might Like
Learn more about RevenueStripe...